The Problem of the Poor?

Funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund, this volunteer heritage project explored the lives of people in need in Victorian Nottingham, recorded through their encounters with the Nottingham Society for Organising Charity.

The project ran from April to October 2015 and throughout the process we asked:

Were the Victorian poor victims of circumstance, caught in a vicious cycle of suffering and dependency?

Or were their's stories of initiative, self-sacrifice and endeavour that deserve to be heard?

And why was the Nottingham Society for Organising Charity – now Nottingham CVS – so determined to offer not a hand out, but a hand up?  How did this transition from charity to opportunity, empowering individuals to lift themselves out of poverty, really work?

You can view our blogs by clicking on the hyperlinks below, or in the left hand column. And if you want to have a look at a couple of videos of our volunteers from our #NCVS140 campaign, click on the hyperlink in the left hand column.

For more information, contact Rich Bacon at richb[at]nottinghamcvs.co[dot]uk or on 0115 934 8400. 

Blog Posts

Wednesday 15 April 2015 - First impressions

Wednesday 22 April 2015 - Thinking about why we are here

Wednesday 29 April 2015 - Providing for yourself in Victorian England

Wednesday 6 May 2015 - Crime and punishment at the Galleries of Justice

Wednesday 13 May 2015 - Stories from the workhouse at Southwell

Tuesday 19 May 2015 - Shelving, plant rooms and historical documents at Nottinghamshire Archives

Wednesday 27 May 2015 - From children's home to pawn and pig clubs

Wednesday 3 June 2015 - Beginnings: The Nottingham Society for Organising Charity

Wednesday 10 June 2015 - Who were the 'undeserving poor'?

Wednesday 17 June 2015 - Reflecting on the project

Wednesday 24 June 2015 - The problems of the poor

Wednesday 1 July 2015 - Opening up

Wednesday 8 July 2015 - Nottingham Charity Organisation Society on trial?

Wednesday 15 July 2015 - The poor as a problem?

Wednesday 22 July 2015 - Pop up banners

Wednesday 29 July 2015 - Bringing our project to life

Wednesday 19 August 2015 - The making of Victorian Nottingham

Wednesday 2 September 2015 - The case of Betsy Clarke

Wednesday 9 September 2015 - Preparing for our day in court

 

Last updated: 27 May 2016